Back to the main page


Note: If you have questions about Audacity, please don't email the individual developers.
Instead, send your mail to [email protected].Thanks!

Dominic Mazzoni is the project leader and Audacity's primary programmer. He began the project while a graduate student at Carnegie Mellon University in Pittsburgh, PA. He is currently a research programmer at the NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory in Pasadena, CA.
[email protected]

Roger Dannenberg wrote the sound file I/O, MIDI file manipulation, and real-time audio I/O code for Audacity. He is a Senior Research Scientist at Carnegie Mellon University in Pittsburgh, PA.
[email protected]

Joshua Haberman wrote the Preferences dialog and maintains the distributions for Windows, FreeBSD, and Debian Linux. He is a student at the University of Puget Sound in Seattle, WA.
[email protected]

Paul Nasca wrote most of the digital effects included in Audacity, including BassBoost, Phaser, and Wahwah. He studies Mathematics and Computer Science at Petru Maior University in Targu-Mures, Romania.
[email protected]

Thanks to Harvey Lubin of Agrapha for the logo and icons.

Thanks to Tom Woodhams for the Aqua toolbar for the Macintosh.

Documentation by Anthony Oetzmann and Dominic Mazzoni with contributions by Ruben German Paco (Spanish translations).

Other Contributors: The following list of people have also contributed code, bug reports, feature requests, feedback, or other useful information to the project:

  • Dave Beydler
  • Matt Brubeck
  • Jason Cohen
  • Robert Leidle
  • Logan Lewis
  • Jason Pepas
  • Jonathan Ryshpan
  • Mark Tomlinson
  • David Topper
  • Rudy Trubitt
  • Mark Phillips